James Banner’s USINE


“James Banner’s USINE is 45 minutes of unobvious and unpredictable music, created thanks to artists connected by an invisible but at the same time noticeable thread of unbounded agreement” – Robert Ratajczak [LongPlay]

“intense and dramatic…gentle and beautiful… an album characteristic of today’s contemporary jazz with the mixture of structure and freedom, full of drama and strong soloing… occasionally quite challenging…” – Tony Dudley-Evans [Programme Advisor for Jazzlines/Cheltenham Jazz Festival, Europe Jazz Network/Jazz Promotion Network]

“not everyone wants to pick a side… James Banner… revels in both the avant-garde and the swing… a musical balancing act”  – Martin Böttcher [Deutschlandfunk Kultur]


Listen to the Deutschlandfunk Kultur radio feature here ->

,,If you can throw past preferences overboard, USINE rewards you with a unique sound experience” – Christian Kautz [LikeHiFi]


  • May 2021 – UK/DE Tour

Since release, James Banner’s USINE has received radio play around the EU and US at AllAboutJazz Radio, Deutschlandfunk Kultur, BBC Radio 3, BRF1 Radio, FRS and Radio ARA Luxembourg. Baum Mitnehmen was track of the day at AllAboutJazz on 03.01.2019. USINE toured the UK and Germany in February-March 2019, partially supported by Initiative Musik, and received support from the Berlin State Department for Culture and Europe to record their debut album.

Cansu Tanrıkulu – Voice
Declan Forde – Piano
James Banner – Bass/Composition
Max Andrzejewski – Drums
+ guests:
Fabiana Striffler – Violin
Arne Braun – Guitar

james banner's USINE
Album released on 18.10.2018 by JazzHausMusik
Recording supported by the Berlin State Department for Culture and Europe
Concerts in the UK, February 2019 supported by Initative Musik

Download EPK/Press Kit (English, PDF) ->

High Res Pics ->

James Banner's USINE + Fabiana - Foto Cristina Marx.JPG
Sowieso Berlin – Photo by Photomusix/Cristina Marx
James Banner's USINE HIGH RES.jpg
Photo by Olga Baczynska
Symphony Hall Birmingham – Photo by Jazzlines

Want to get the CD? Enter your email address below for more info!

Privacy policy – Email addresses submitted through this form are not shared with any third parties and will only be used for information relating to the album release and added to the jamesbanner.com mailing list. You can opt out of communication at any time by using the link within communications or by contacting me ->